CAP - Curating for Advanced Practices
CAP - Curating for Advanced Practices

The intrinsic expansion of artistic practices gives rise to today’s transdisciplinary understanding of art and culture. At the same time, social changes and identity politics are breaking down conventional notions of periphery and center. Needs for artistic productions are changing and audiences are expanding.

 

With these developments, the curator’s field of activity is also changing. The classical exhibition is replaced by innovative and experimental lecture series, publications, discussions, workshops, film screenings, or digital formats. Readings and performances manifest outside established structures.

 

The Stiftung Künstlerdorf organizes an annual curator’s program with the aim of developing new strategies and structures and clarifying implementation issues. The concept is derived from the meaning of curating, according to which it involves a deep understanding of social challenges as well as artistic processes and methods, and is not limited to one artistic field or one professional discipline. The program focuses on production conditions, financing needs, and contemporary forms of mediation and participation of stakeholders and other target groups.

 

With changing thematic focuses, the transdisciplinary program is designed by a group of four to ten experts from artistic and non-artistic fields. The program takes place during a period of about one to two weeks in July in the Künstlerdorf. During this time lectures are held and contents are discussed. There is a part of public program units and presentation, like exhibitions, musical contributions or readings. The program is accompanied by a publication.

Towards Perma-Cultural Institutions: Exercises in Collective Thinking
11. — 18. Juli 2022

The seminar takes the concept of permaculture as a starting point for new thinking about the functionality of artistic systems and the different types of art institutions. The goal is to bring the teaching of plants and permaculture, which has served primarily as exhibition content, into the structures of cultural work in order to influence curatorial practice: How can permaculture ethics (Earthcare, Peoplecare, and Fairshare) spur a sustainable transformation of arts institutions that goes beyond a superficial application of ecological principles?

In addition to keynote lectures that were accessible online, there was an open event for interested people, artists and cultural practitioners to follow content and exchange with participants.

CAP - Curating for Advanced Practices
CAP - Curating for Advanced Practices

 

Aus der intrinsischen Erweiterung künstlerischer Praktiken ergibt sich das heutige transdisziplinäre Verständnis von Kunst und Kultur. Gleichzeitig brechen gesellschaftliche Veränderungen und Identitätspolitiken konventionelle Vorstellungen von Peripherie und Zentrum auf. Bedarfe für künstlerische Produktionen verändern sich und Publikumskreise werden erweitert.

 

Mit diesen Entwicklungen verändert sich auch das Tätigkeitsfeld des Kurators / der Kuratorin. Die klassische Ausstellung wird durch innovative und experimentelle Vortragsreihen, Veröffentlichungen,
Diskussionsrunden, Workshops, Filmvorführungen oder digitale Formate ergänzt oder gar ersetzt. Lesungen und Performances manifestierten sich außerhalb etablierter Strukturen.

 

Die Stiftung Künstlerdorf organisiert jährlich ein Kurator:innenprogramm, mit dem Ziel, neue Strategien und Strukturen zu entwickeln und Umsetzungsfragen zu klären. Das Konzept leitet sich aus dem Bedeutungsraum des Kuratierens ab, wonach diesem ein tiefes Verständnis für gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen sowie künstlerische Prozesse und Methoden zukommt und ist nicht auf eine künstlerische Sparte oder eine fachliche Disziplin beschränkt. Handlungsfelder des Programms liegen auf Produktionsbedingungen, dem Finanzierungsbedarf sowie zeitgemäßen Formen der Vermittlung und Beteiligung von Interessensvertreter:innen oder andere Zielgruppen.

 

Bei wechselnden thematischen Schwerpunkten wird das transdisziplinäre Programm von einer Gruppe von vier bis zehn Expert:innen aus künstlerischen und außerkünstlerischen Bereichen gestaltet. Das Programm findet während des Zeitraumes von etwa ein bis zwei Wochen im Juli im Künstlerdorf statt. Während dieser Zeit werden Vorträge gehalten und Inhalte diskutiert. Dabei gibt es einen Teil an öffentlichen Programmeinheiten und Präsentation, wie Ausstellungen, musikalische Beiträge oder Lesungen. Zu dem Programm erscheint eine Publikation.

 

Towards Perma-Cultural Institutions: Exercises in Collective Thinking
11. — 18. Juli 2022

Das Seminar nimmt das Konzept der Permakultur als Ausgangspunkt für ein neues Denken über die Funktionalität künstlerischer Systeme und die verschiedenen Arten von Kunstinstitutionen. Ziel ist es, die Lehre über Pflanzen und Permakultur, die bisher vor allem als Ausstellungsinhalt diente, in die Strukturen der Kulturarbeit einzubringen, um die kuratorische Praxis zu beeinflussen: Wie kann die Ethik der Permakultur (Earthcare, Peoplecare und Fairshare) eine nachhaltige Transformation von Kunstinstitutionen anstoßen, die über eine oberflächliche Anwendung ökologischer Prinzipien hinausgeht?

 

Neben Hauptvorträgen, die online zugänglich waren, gab es auch eine offene Veranstaltung für Interessierte, Künstler:innen und Kulturschaffende, um Inhalte verfolgen und mit den Akteur:innen in Austausch treten zu können.