Home

Since 1989, the Künstlerdorf Schöppingen supports international artists with its residency program. The stipend-funded fellowship of two to six months enables the realization of projects in the fields of literature, visual arts and composition.

The Harvest - a group show
19. November — 4. Dezember 2022

„Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.”
(Robert Louis Balfour Stevenson, Scottish writer, 1850 – 1894)

Towards Perma-Cultural Institutions: Exercises in Collective Thinking
11. — 18. Juli 2022

The seminar takes the concept of permaculture as a starting point for new thinking about the functionality of artistic systems and the different types of art institutions. The goal is to bring the teaching of plants and permaculture, which has served primarily as exhibition content, into the structures of cultural work in order to influence curatorial practice: How can permaculture ethics (Earthcare, Peoplecare, and Fairshare) spur a sustainable transformation of arts institutions that goes beyond a superficial application of ecological principles?

In addition to keynote lectures that were accessible online, there was an open event for interested people, artists and cultural practitioners to follow content and exchange with participants.

installation: Stefanie Manhillen, photo: Seweryn Zelazny
installation: Gili Avissar, photo: Meike Reiners
Current Fellows

Visual Arts

Sophia Bauer, Federico Clavarino, Gina Dargan, Danny Daoud, Verena Friedrich, Yoeri Guépin, Bethan Hughes, Mohammad Reza Jahanpanah, Ona Juciūtė, Franziska Klose, Lucila Mayol Pohl, Anna Melnykova, Gil Mualem-Doron, Alina Nosow, Sebastian Roitter Pavez, Nolwenn Salaün, Evangelia Spiliopoulou, Catharina Szonn, Agata Szymanek, Kai-Hendrik Windeler

 

Composition

Feliz Anne Macahis, Mert Morali, Eiko Tsukamoto

Current Fellows

Literature

Janhavi Acharekar, Natalja Althauser, Kerstin Becker, Bertony Louis, Marian Bull, Grashina Gabelmann, Neïtah Janzing, Azadeh Karami, Christina Kettering, Myriam Khouri, Ilija Matusko, Jamie McGhee, Mia Raben, Vera Vorneweg, Luna Thadwell

 

About

 

The Stiftung Künstlerdorf Schöppingen is located in two listed manor houses from the early 19th century, situated in the rural area of Münsterland, close to the Dutch border. Each year, the Künstlerdorf awards around 40 grants in the fields of visual arts, literature and composition. Since its founding in 1989, a total of about 900 artists have been invited for a residency. The fellowships are each associated with a two- to six-month stay in the Künstlerdorf. The program is open to international applicants and has no age limit. The selection of the fellows is made by juries of experts, which are renewed on a regular basis.

 

The program of Künstlerdorf offers the opportunity to regularly gain insight into artistic processes and to engage in personal exchange with the fellows. In addition to ongoing events such as monthly dinners and brunches, the Künstlerdorf organizes the annual CAP (Curating for Advanced Practices) program, which aims to discuss production conditions and implementation issues for artistic practices and to develop new strategies and structures in the arts.

 

At the end of each year, a publication is issued that includes documentation of the residency fellowships, the ongoing program, and the CAP program. Annual editions serve to support the work of the Künstlerdorf.

 

In order to sustainably promote the exchange of fellows beyond the residencies, the alumni program offers the possibility to visit the Künstlerdorf as a guest or to participate in later projects. This option is available by arrangement or by invitation.

Home

Seit 1989 ist das Künstlerdorf Schöppingen eine international agierende kulturelle Produktions- und Residenzstätte für Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Der stipendiengeförderte Aufenthalt von zwei bis sechs Monaten ermöglicht die Umsetzung von Projekten in den Bereichen Literatur, Visuelle Kunst und Komposition.

The Harvest - eine Gruppenausstellung
19. November — 4. Dezember 2022

„Beurteile einen Tag nicht danach, welche Ernte du am Abend eingefahren hast. Sondern danach, welche Samen du gesät hast.“
(Robert Louis Balfour Stevenson, schottischer Schriftsteller, 1850 – 1894)

Towards Perma-Cultural Institutions: Exercises in Collective Thinking
11. — 18. Juli 2022

Das Seminar nimmt das Konzept der Permakultur als Ausgangspunkt für ein neues Denken über die Funktionalität künstlerischer Systeme und die verschiedenen Arten von Kunstinstitutionen. Ziel ist es, die Lehre über Pflanzen und Permakultur, die bisher vor allem als Ausstellungsinhalt diente, in die Strukturen der Kulturarbeit einzubringen, um die kuratorische Praxis zu beeinflussen: Wie kann die Ethik der Permakultur (Earthcare, Peoplecare und Fairshare) eine nachhaltige Transformation von Kunstinstitutionen anstoßen, die über eine oberflächliche Anwendung ökologischer Prinzipien hinausgeht?

 

Neben Hauptvorträgen, die online zugänglich waren, gab es auch eine offene Veranstaltung für Interessierte, Künstler:innen und Kulturschaffende, um Inhalte verfolgen und mit den Akteur:innen in Austausch treten zu können.

installation: Stefanie Manhillen, photo: Seweryn Zelazny
installation: Gili Avissar, photo: Meike Reiners
Aktuelle Stipendiat:innen

Visuelle Kunst

Sophia Bauer, Federico Clavarino, Gina Dargan, Danny Daoud, Verena Friedrich, Yoeri Guépin, Bethan Hughes, Mohammad Reza Jahanpanah, Ona Juciūtė, Franziska Klose, Lucila Mayol Pohl, Anna Melnykova, Gil Mualem-Doron, Alina Nosow, Sebastian Roitter Pavez, Nolwenn Salaün, Evangelia Spiliopoulou, Catharina Szonn, Agata Szymanek, Kai-Hendrik Windeler

 

Komposition

Feliz Anne Macahis, Mert Morali, Eiko Tsukamoto

Aktuelle Stipendiat:innen

Literatur

Janhavi Acharekar, Natalja Althauser, Kerstin Becker, Bertony Louis, Marian Bull, Grashina Gabelmann, Neïtah Janzing, Azadeh Karami, Christina Kettering, Myriam Khouri, Ilija Matusko, Jamie McGhee, Mia Raben, Vera Vorneweg, Luna Thadwell

Kurzdarstellung

 

Die Stiftung Künstlerdorf Schöppingen befindet sich in zwei denkmalgeschützten Gutshöfen aus dem frühen 19. Jahrhunderts, gelegen im ländlichen Raum im Münsterland, nahe der niederländischen Grenze. Das Künstlerdorf vergibt jedes Jahr rund 40 Stipendien in den Bereichen Visuelle Kunst, Literatur und Komposition. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1989 wurden insgesamt rund 900 Künstlerinnen und Künstler für einen Residenzaufenthalt eingeladen. Die Stipendien sind mit einem jeweils zwei- bis sechsmonatigen Aufenthalt im Künstlerdorf verbunden. Das Programm ist offen für internationale Bewerbungen und ohne Altersbeschränkung. Die Auswahl der Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten erfolgt durch Fachjurys, die turnusmäßig neu besetzt werden.

 

Das vom Künstlerdorf gestaltete Programm bietet die Möglichkeit, regelmäßig Einblicke in künstlerische Prozesse zu erhalten und in einen persönlichen Austausch mit den Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten zu kommen. Neben den fortlaufenden Veranstaltungen, wie monatlichen Abendessen und Brunches, organisiert das Künstlerdorf jährlich das Programm CAP (Curating for Advanced Practices), mit dem Ziel, Produktionsbedingungen und Umsetzungsfragen für künstlerische Praktiken zu diskutieren und neue Strategien und Strukturen in den Künsten zu entwickeln.

 

Zum Ende eines jeden Jahres erscheint eine Publikation, die Dokumentationen der Aufenthaltsstipendien, des fortlaufenden Programms sowie des CAP Programms umfasst. Jahreseditionen dienen der Unterstützung der Arbeit des Künstlerdorfes.

 

Um den Austausch der Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten auch über die Residenzaufenthalte hinaus nachhaltig zu fördern, besteht im Rahmen des Alumni-Programms grundsätzlich die Möglichkeit, das Künstlerdorf als Gast zu besuchen oder in späteren Projekten mitzuwirken. Diese Option erfolgt nach Absprache beziehungsweise auf Einladung.